The Chair of The­o­ry of Music has been a part of the Depart­ment of Com­po­si­tion, Con­duct­ing and The­o­ry of Music since 1957. At first it had two sep­a­rate areas of activ­i­ty: method­ol­o­gy of the­o­ret­i­cal sub­jects and har­mo­ny and coun­ter­point (the two basic branch­es of the­o­ry of music at the time). Lat­er on these two areas were merged organ­i­sa­tion­al­ly and the­mat­i­cal­ly.

The Chair is respon­si­ble for the teach­ing of sub­jects which have direct bear­ing on the mas­tery of tra­di­tion­al and con­tem­po­rary tech­niques of com­po­si­tion. Teach­ing is based on the sound real­i­sa­tion of the under­ly­ing norms and prin­ci­ples of these tech­niques (har­mo­ny, coun­ter­point, aur­al train­ing, instru­men­ta­tion, score read­ing, con­tem­po­rary tech­niques of com­po­si­tion), his­tor­i­cal­ly-ori­ent­ed sub­jects taught in the form of lec­tures, sem­i­nars and train­ing class­es (analy­sis of musi­cal arte­facts from dif­fer­ent his­tor­i­cal peri­ods, his­to­ry of musi­cal forms, his­to­ry of the­o­ry of music, musi­cal styles, mono­graph­ic lec­tures) and method (research tech­nol­o­gy, dis­ser­ta­tion sem­i­nar). A num­ber of sub­jects are com­pul­so­ry: human­is­tic sub­jects (his­to­ry of phi­los­o­phy, music aes­thet­ics), ped­a­gogy, sem­i­nar on music review­ing, for­eign lan­guages. Stu­dents can also choose a num­ber of option­al sub­jects (spe­cial har­mo­ny, spe­cial solfeg­gio, music eth­nol­o­gy, music pale­og­ra­phy, elec­troa­coustic music, jazz and light music, piano impro­vi­sa­tion, select­ed instru­ment). Music the­o­ry grad­u­ates are qual­i­fied for research work, teach­ing of the­o­ret­i­cal sub­jects at music schools of var­i­ous lev­els, musi­cal jour­nal­ism, radio and TV broad­cast­ing, organ­i­sa­tion of music life etc.

Mem­bers of the Chair of The­o­ry of Music con­duct research in accor­dance with their per­son­al inter­ests and present papers at sci­en­tif­ic sym­posia and con­fer­ences. The Chair has a tra­di­tion of open meet­ings and spe­cial­ist sem­i­nars at which lec­tures are held by Chair mem­bers and invit­ed guests.

The fol­low­ing per­sons have head­ed the Chair of The­o­ry of Music: Kaz­imierz Siko­rs­ki, Ste­fan Śledz­ińs­ki, Witold Rudz­ińs­ki, Maciej Zalews­ki, Krzysztof Mazur, Jad­wiga Zabłoc­ka, Lud­wik Bielaws­ki, Mar­i­an Borkows­ki, Maria Piotrows­ka, Jerzy Gołos, Woj­ciech Nowik and Katarzy­na Szy­mańs­ka-Stuł­ka. Mem­bers of the Chair of The­o­ry of Music also con­duct lec­tures and class­es for oth­er depart­ments of the FCUM.

Chair Members




last modified: 05/12/2017